Cityblog Live

CityBlog is back with all fresh local news, views, opinions, jobs, food and entertainment. Do send us your blog contributions to us for publishing at

Wednesday, August 12, 2020

A trip to the last century!


1949: North Atlantic Treaty

In 1949, the United States, along with Britain, France, Canada, Belgium, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Portugal, and the Netherlands signed the NATO pact. This defense alliance was aimed at defusing a persistent Soviet threat. In this photo by Reg Speller, British Foreign Secretary Ernest Bevin meets with other foreign ministers to begin talks.

No comments:

Post a Comment