Cityblog Live

CityBlog is back with all fresh local news, views, opinions, jobs, food and entertainment. Do send us your blog contributions to us for publishing at

Friday, December 24, 2010

Nobel Prize winners 2010



Andre Geim

Konstantin Novoselov

Topic: Graphene: Carbon's New Face.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010 was awarded jointly to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov "for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene"

Imagine a sheet of material that's just one atom thick, yet super-strong, highly conductive, practically transparent and able to reveal new secrets of fundamental physics. That's graphene, isolated by Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov, 2010 Nobel Laureates in Physics



Richard F. Heck

Ei-ichi Negishi

Akira Suzuki

Topic: Molecule Makers

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010 was awarded jointly to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki "for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis".

Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki share the 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing new, more efficient ways of linking carbon atoms together to build the complex molecules that are improving our everyday lives.



Robert G. Edwards

Topic: The Father of the Test Tube Baby

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2010 was awarded to Robert G. Edwards "for the development of in vitro fertilization".

Robert G. Edwards, the 2010 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine, battled societal and establishment resistance to his development of the in vitro fertilization procedure, which has so far led to the birth of around 4 million people.


Winners: Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides

Topic: Finding the Right Match

As we all know, matching house buyers with those selling houses, or job seekers with the right vacancy, can be an inefficient process. This year's Laureates in Economic Sciences, Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides, have created mathematical models which provide the framework for studying how such processes occur in the real world.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2010 was awarded jointly to Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides "for their analysis of markets with search frictions".


Winner: Liu Xiaob

Topic: Freedom of Speech in China

The Nobel Peace Prize 2010 was awarded to Liu Xiaobo "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China".

Among the many people campaigning for human rights in China, o, the 2010 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, has become the most visible symbol of the struggle. A long-term exponent of non-violent protest, he is currently serving an 11-year prison term.


Winner: Mario Vargas Llosa

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010 was awarded to Mario Vargas Llosa "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat".

Peruvian by birth and a truly international citizen, the 2010 Nobel Laureate in Literature embraces multiple genres (novels, plays, essays), and politics too, in his commitment to social change.

No comments:

Post a Comment